Login: 
Password:
Home All Questions Ask Question All Forums Recent Polls Users Register new user
Animals / पशु > HF / Jersey / Murrah / Jaffarabadi  

Quick Go »
Show Printable Version | e-mail this thread | Add To My Favorites | Watch this Thread
Author
Previous Thread 8 Replies 4712 Views Next Thread

bhasker_harihara

10+ Contributor
Chennai
Tamil Nadu
India

HF / Jersey / Murrah / Jaffarabadi

I am new to farming.  Moved from IT.  I would like to know the no. of cows / buffaloes that can be reared in one acre of land.  Is it possible to purchase all the required fodder from the market and still be profitable.  Will HF/Jersey/Murrah/Jaffarabadi breeds adapat well for chennai climate.    Also I would like to have a 50:50 mix of cows and buffaloes.  Thank you in advance for the reply.
[Feb 8, 2010 1:28:06 PM] Print Post Report threaten post: please login first  Go to top 

baramati

Certifed Expert
Baramati, Pune Dist
Maharashtra
India

Member's Photo

Expert Name: Dr. D.P.Bhoite
Phone Number: 02112-255207

Re: HF / Jersey / Murrah / Jaffarabadi

Prior to starting dairy farming you could avail training on dairy farming to get knowledge on this aspect.Also if possible ,do survey of buffalo & cattle farms around the Chennai who purchase the total fodder & run the dairy farms.Also study the marketting system for milk & milk products & margin get in this business.You need to do this survey on your own.Also go through following points about dairy farming-
Whichever is the business, want to become profitable needs following things (Dairy point of view):-
1)Quality animals:- Animals which can sustain in perticular climatic conditions & having proper dairy character needed for dairy business.Eg- In Konkan region, there is high rainfall in rainy season and drought situation on summer season.so the kind of animals which are suitable for this region may be Jersey cows,Surti & Mehsana buffaloes.